We were delighted that Lady Banham MBE, President of the PK Trust, recently joined Museum staff in a symbolic turf cutting on site of our new Learning Centre and Archive. The 430 meter square building has been designed by award-winning architects Long & Kentish and is due to open its doors in spring 2013.
Mike O’Neill, Division Director for construction partner Midas, commented: “The centre includes an Archive for a unique collection of documents and it is very important that this part of the building is fully commissioned and the environmental conditions balanced before the Museum occupies it.”
Development Project Manager, Henrietta Boex, summed up what the new buildings means for the local area: “Porthcurno valley has been shaped by the presence of the telegraph since 1870 when the first cable came ashore, linking it to the rest of the world. This exciting development is the latest chapter in Porthcurno’s story and the Learning Centre and Archive will be an excellent resource for local schools, community groups, academics and family historians. Increasing access will allow many more people to explore Porthcurno’s unique heritage and discover how the telegraph changed the way we live and communicate today.”